WTC final, IND v NZ, Day 3: New Zealand lose both openers at stumps, trail by 116 runs

Southampton: The final of the World Test Championship is being played between India and New Zealand in the Rose Bowl, Southampton. While batting first, on the third day, the Indian team was bowled out for just 217 runs. In response to which New Zealand scored 101 runs for the loss of two opening wickets till the end of the day. From here, India has a lead of just 116 runs.

New Zealand has tightened the screws in the match.

With the help of Jamieson’s five-wicket haul New Zealand took the crucial wicket in the first session. India lost the wickets of Kohli, Pant, Rahane, and Ashwin as they bowled out for 217.

The Indian team added 73 runs to their innings on the third day while losing 7 wickets. None of the batsmen could play a half-century innings from the Indian team. During this, Ajinkya Rahane played the highest innings of 49 runs, while Virat Kohli (44), Rohit Sharma (34), Shubman Gill (28) and R Ashwin (22) did the work of playing important innings.

Earlier, on the very very first innings, openers Rohit Sharma (34 off 68 balls) and Shubman Gill (28 off 64 balls) was made a good start, propelling India to reach 62 without loss in 20 overs as New Zealand bowlers struggled for the ideal line.

The first day’s play was washed out while the second day’s play ended early due to bad light.

Brief scores: India: 217 all out in 92.1 overs (Ajinkya Rahane 49, Virat Kohli 44, Rohit Sharma 34, Kyle Jamieson 5/31, Neil Wagner 2/40, Trent Boult 2/47) New Zealand: 101/2 wkts in 49 overs (Devon Conway 54, Tom Latham 30, Kane Williamson 12*)

READ ALSO :  Yoga included in govt school curriculum from Classes 1 to 10 in Haryana: Khattar


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand (Playing XI): Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

Source link

Give a Comment