WTC final, IND v NZ, Day 3: Kyle Jamieson’s fifer helps to bowled out India for 217

Southampton: With the help of Jamieson’s five-wicket haul New Zealand took the crucial wicket of Virat Kohli (44), and Rahane (49) in the first session. India lost the wickets of Kohli, Pant, Rahane, and Ashwin as they bowled out for 217 in the first innings on the third day of the World Test Championship final against New Zealand here at the Hampshire Bowl on Saturday.

The Indian team added 73 runs to their innings on the third day while losing 7 wickets. None of the batsmen could play a half-century innings from the Indian team. During this, Ajinkya Rahane played the highest innings of 49 runs, while Virat Kohli (44), Rohit Sharma (34), Shubman Gill (28) and R Ashwin (22) did the work of playing important innings.

Kyle Jamieson took the wicket of India’s most capable batsmen to completely push the Virat-led team on the back foot and created history at the Southampton ground. Jamieson has done the work of breaking the record of former legendary bowler Jack Covey in the list of bowlers with the most wickets by playing 8 Test matches for New Zealand.

Earlier, on the very very first innings, openers Rohit Sharma (34 off 68 balls) and Shubman Gill (28 off 64 balls) was made a good start, propelling India to reach 62 without loss in 20 overs as New Zealand bowlers struggled for the ideal line. 

At the lunch, Ravindra Jadeja (batting 15) and Ishant Sharma (batting 2) were at the crease. Tim Southee got his first wicket of the game as he dismissed Ravichandran Ashwin, whose promising knock of 22 came to an end. Neither captain Virat Kohli (44), nor his deputy Ajinkya Rahane (49) could complete their half-century.

READ ALSO :  No vaccine stock in Delhi for 18-44 age group from next week: Atishi

The first day’s play was washed out while the second day’s play ended early due to bad light.

Brief scores: India 217/10 in 92.1 overs (A Rahane 49, V Kohli 44, R Sharma 34, Ravindra Jadeja 15, Ashwin 22,  K Jamieson 5/31, N Wagner 2/40, Trent Boult 2/47)

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand (Playing XI): Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

Source link

Give a Comment