WTC final, IND v NZ, Day 2: India 146/3 at stumps as badlight ruined first seesion

Southampton: Due to bad light, India has finished 146 for three at stumps on the second day of the World Test Championship final against New Zealand here at the Hampshire Bowl on Saturday.

Openers Rohit Sharma (34 off 68 balls) and Shubman Gill (28 off 64 balls) made a good start, propelling India reach 62 without loss in 20 overs as New Zealand bowlers struggled for the ideal line.

At stumps, skipper Virat Kohli was unbeaten on 124 balls with the help of a four and Ajinkya Rahane was unbeaten on 29 off 79 balls with four fours. For New Zealand, Kyle Jameson, Trent Boult and Neil Wagner have achieved one success each.

Earlier, after lunch, India started ahead of 69 runs for two wickets. Kohli extended his innings to six, while Cheteshwar Pujara was yet to open his account, who faced 24 balls till lunch. For New Zealand, Kyle Jamieson and Neil Wagner took one wicket each.

Pujara, however, could not do much with bat and scored eight runs off 54 balls with the help of two fours and was dismissed by Boult. After his dismissal, the captain and vice-captain did not let the team get any further setback. At the same time, Rohit scored 34 off 68 balls with the help of six fours and Shubman Gill scored 28 runs in 64 balls with the help of three fours.

The first day was washed out. New Zealand won the toss on the second day and elected to bowl.

Brief scores (at Tea): India 146/3 in 55.3 overs (R Sharma 34, S Gill 28, Ajinkya Rahane (29*), Virat Kohli (44*), N Wagner 1/28, K Jamieson 1/14, Trent Boult 1/32) vs New Zealand.

READ ALSO :  Varun Dhawan-Natasha Dalal's party PICS with Anushka-Virat, Ranbir, Jacqueline and other celebs


India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand (Playing XI): Tom Latham, Devon Conway, Kane Williamson(c), Ross Taylor, Henry Nicholls, BJ Watling(w), Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Neil Wagner, Tim Southee, Trent Boult

Source link

Give a Comment