West Bengal Election 2021: TMC workers thrashed by security forces amid widespread violence

Ajeyo Basu

LAST UPDATED: April 22, 2021, 3:34 p.m.

Kolkata: The sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021 is being held today. Despite massive security arrangements intense and widespread clashes took place between the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and BJP.

Dhawapara in Palashipara village of Nadia district became the centre of a controversy when Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) soldiers beat up several TMC workers.

Local TMC leaders claimed before the media that the paramilitary soldiers also fired four rounds which injured some of their workers. However, the security forces have denied that firing took place.

The TMC made similar allegations over an incident at Bahin village in the Raiganj area of North Dinajpur district. Local TMC leaders alleged that paramilitary soldiers have beaten up several voters. The police have rushed to the spot.

In this phase, polling is being held at 43 assembly seats in four districts of West Bengal.

These districts are – East Badardhaman, North 24 Parganas, Uttar Dinajpur and Nadia. A total of 306 candidates are in the fray during the sixth phase, including 27 women. About 1.03 crore voters will have a chance to exercise their franchise.

Polling is being held in 17 seats in North 24 Parganas district, 9 in Nadia, 8 in East Burdwan and 9 seats in Uttar Dinajpur.

Source link

READ ALSO :  PM Modi on celebrating festivals amid coronavirus crisis: Need to take absolute precautions

Leave a Comment