West Bengal Election 2021: Polling for 6th phase being held today

Kolkata: The sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021 is being held today. In this phase, polling is being held at 43 assembly seats in four districts of West Bengal.

These districts are – East Badardhaman, North 24 Parganas, Uttar Dinajpur and Nadia. A total of 306 candidates are in the fray during the sixth phase, including 27 women. About 1.03 crore voters will have a chance to exercise their franchise.

Polling is being held in 17 seats in North 24 Parganas district, 9 in Nadia, 8 in East Burdwan and 9 seats in Uttar Dinajpur.

Till now, polling has been completed in 180 seats in five phases. Voting for 114 seats is yet to take place in the remaining three phases.

Voting is taking place at 14,480 polling booths. Prominent candidates in the sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021 include BJP’s National Vice President Mukul Roy, Trinamool Congress’s (TMC) Ujjwal Biswas, Swapan Debnath and Chandrima Bhattacharya, CPI’s Tanmay Bhattacharya and Congress’s Mohit Sengupta. 

Out of 306 candidates in the sixth phase, 87 have criminal cases against them. Of these, 71 have very serious criminal cases against them. These include 14 of the CPI (M), 25 of the BJP, 24 of the Trinamool  Congress (TMC) and five of the Congress.

There are 66 millionaires in this phase, including 28 from Trinamool Congress (TMC), 19 from BJP, two from Congress and four from CPI (M). The average assets of the sixth phase candidates is Rs 94.83 lakh. 129 candidates have declared their educational qualification between fifth to twelfth while 165 candidates have declared graduation and above. 85 candidates are between 25 and 40 years old while 162 candidates have stated their age between 41 to 60. At the same time, 59 candidates are between 61 to 80 years of age.

READ ALSO :  IPL 2020, KKR vs MI: Cummins, Morgan take KKR to 148/5 after top order collapse

Polling at 43 seats in sixth phase

In this phase Bagda, Bangaon North, Bangaon South, Gaighata, Swaroopnagar, Baduria, Habra, Ashoknagar, Amadanga, Bijpur, Naihati, Bhatpada, Jagdal, Noapada, Barrackpore, Kharadah, Dum Dum North, Karimpur, Tehatta, Palashipada, Kaliganj, Nakasipada, Voting will be held in Chapra, Krishnanagar North, Navadwip, Krishnanagar South, Bhatar, East East South, East North, Katwa, Ketugram, Mangalkot, Ausagram, Galasi, Chopra, Islampur, Gwalpokhar, Chakulia, Karanadighi, Hemtabad, Kaliaganj, Rajganj and Etahar Assembly

Sixth stage leading candidates

Many veteran leaders are in the fray in this phase. The most important seat in this is considered to be Krishnanagar North, from where BJP’s National Vice President Mukul Roy is in the fray. Along with this, Shubhranshu Rai from Bijpur, Pawan Singh from Bhatpada, Arindam Bhattacharya from Jagdal, Sunil Singh from Noapada, Sheelbhadra Dutta from Khadda are also contesting. 

At the same time, 5 ministers of the state are also involved in this phase. These include Mohammad Ghulam Rabbani from Gwalpokhar, Ujjwal Biswas from Krishnanagar South, Jyotipriya Mallik from Habra, Chandrima Bhattacharya from Dum Dum North, Swapan Devnath from East East. 

Along with this, actress Kaushani Mukherjee from Krishnanagar North, Partha Bhowmik from Naihati, Raj Chakraborty from Barrackpore are also in the fray.

Source link

Leave a Comment