West Bengal Election 2021: BJP claims 20 workers injured in clashes with TMC

Ajeyo Basu

LAST UPDATED: April 22, 2021, 8:07 a.m.

Kolkata: Just like the previous five phases, the run up to the sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021 witnessed massive violence.

On Wednesday night, a few hours before the start of the sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021, bloody clashes took place between the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and BJP at the Navadwip constituency.

A local party office of the BJP was burned down in the violence.

The BJP has alleged that around 150 TMC workers came on motorbikes and hurled bombs at the party office. Local BJP leaders have claimed that around 20 of their workers were injured in the incident.

The TMC has denied the allegations.

Out of 306 candidates in the sixth phase, 87 have criminal cases against them. Of these, 71 have very serious criminal cases against them. These include 14 of the CPI (M), 25 of the BJP, 24 of the Trinamool  Congress (TMC) and five of the Congress.

During the sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021, 779 companies of Central Police Forces (CPF) will be deployed to guard the polling booths.

Seat wise deployment of CPF in 6th phase of West Bengal Election 2021  

Asansol Durgapur – 14 companies

Bangaon – 69 companies

Barasat – 59 companies

Barrackpore – 108 companies

Basirhat – 40 companies

Bidhannagar Commissionerate – 3 companies

South Dinajpur – 3 companies

Islampur – 62 companies

Krishnanagar – 162 companies

East Burdwan – 143 companies

Raiganj- 97 companies

READ ALSO :  Russia's covid-19 vaccine Sputnik V enters in India, clinical trials to be conducted soon

One company of CPF consists of around 100 soldiers.

A total of 308 candidates are contesting from 43 seats in the sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021. The total number of voters in these constituencies is 1.03 crore. Of these, 50.56 are women and 256 are third gender people. 

A total of 14,460 polling booths have been set up for the sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021. 

According to Election Commission sources, several seats in the four districts of this phase are considered to be sensitive. There are violence prone seats like Bhatpara, Naihati, Mangalkot, Barrackpore, Bhatar in this phase. 

The Election Commission has asked the central forces to be more vigilant. The CPF have been allowed to open fire if needed. But it has also been made clear that the shots have to be fired below the knee.

Trinamool Congress (TMC) supremo Mamata Banerjee has questioned the central forces from the very beginning of the West Bengal Election 2021. There are even allegations that the central forces are influencing voters to vote for the BJP. 

Source link

Leave a Comment