Uttar Pradesh Election 2022: Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh among Congress’ star campaigners for first phase

Uttar Pradesh Election 2022: Sonia Gandhi, Manmohan Singh among Congress' star campaigners for first phase

New Delhi: Ahead of the Assembly election in Uttar Pradesh, the Congress party on Monday released a list of 30 star campaigners for the first phase of polls.

Among some of the prominent names mentioned in the list are Congress president Sonia Gandhi, former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and party leaders Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi Vadra, Ghulam Nabi Azad and RPN Singh, ANI reported.

Besdies them, Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, Chhattisgarh Chief Minister Bhupesh Baghel, former JNU Students’ Union chief Kanhaiya Kumar, who had joined the Congress in September last year, will also be campaigning for the state Assembly polls.

Apart from Azad, some other ‘G-23’ leaders are also in the list including Bhupinder Singh Hooda. The G-23 leaders had earlier written to Sonia Gandhi demanding sweeping reforms in the party including elections at various levels.

Congress will be holding a virtual campaign door-to-door campaign in the state as Election Commission has extended a ban on physical rallies and roadshows in view of the rise in COVID-19 cases. Senior party leaders will be part of door-to-door campaigns. They will also address small meetings as permitted by the election authorities following all COVID-19 protocols, sources said.

The Election Commission of India earlier announced that the Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh will be held in seven phases from February 10 to March 7. 

The first phase of polling will be held on February 10, followed by second phase on February 14, third phase on February 20, fourth phase on February 23, fifth phase on February 27, sixth phase on March 3 and seventh phase on March 7.

READ ALSO :  PM Modi lauds efforts of healthcare, frontline workers as India administers record 2 cr COVID vaccine doses

In the 2017 Assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, the Bharatiya Janata Party had bagged 312 seats out of the 403. Samajwadi Party (SP) and Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) had bagged 47 seats and 19 seats respectively. Congress had managed to win only seven seats. 

Besides Uttar Pradesh, Assembly elections will also be held in Punjab, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur.

first published:Jan. 24, 2022, 6:26 p.m.

Source link