‘Unconstitutional and arbitrary’: SC quashes suspension of 12 BJP MLAs in Maharashtra

Supreme Court of India 
Image Source : PTI (FILE)

Supreme Court of India 

The Supreme Court on Friday quashed the suspension of 12 BJP MLAs from the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. The top court termed their suspension as unconstitutional and arbitrary.

Twelve BJP MLAs were suspended from the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly for one year, beginning July 5, 2021.. According to the state government, the MLAs had misbehaved with presiding officer Bhaskar Jadhav in the Speaker’s chamber. The motion to suspend the MLAs was moved by state Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anil Parab and passed by a voice vote.

The 12 BJP MLAs who were suspended are – Sanjay Kute, Ashish Shelar, Abhimanyu Pawar, Girish Mahajan, Atul Bhatkhalkar, Parag Alavani, Harish Pimpale, Yogesh Sagar, Jay Kumar Rawat, Narayan kuche, Ram Satpute and Bunty Bhangdia.

The Bharatiya Janata Party had then categorically rejected the government’s allegation and said that it was an by the Uddhav Thackeray government to reduce the numbers of opposition benches.

The BJP is the principal opposition party in the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly. In the 2019 polls, the BJP and Shiv Sena together had secured a comfortable majority in the House. However, Shiv Sena quit the BJP-led NDA after the results and sided with then arch-rivals Congress and NCP to keep the saffron party away from power. The Shiv Sena led by Uddhav Thackeray heads an alliance government of three parties in Maharashtra. 

Latest India News

Source link

READ ALSO :  MG Motor enjoyed great 2021 in India, sales jumped by 43%