Telangana Formation Day: All you need to know about India’s youngest state, significance, history


New Delhi: Every year on June 2, Telangana Day, also known as Telangana Formation Day, is commemorated. Telangana Formation Day has been commemorated since 2014, when Telangana was created from the once-unified Andhra Pradesh. Today is the 9th Telangana Formation Day. Telangana Formation Day is celebrated with considerable fanfare across the state. Telangana celebrates the day as a public holiday, with a variety of events and cultural activities organised by both government and private organisations around the state. 

Telangana was India’s 29th state when it was established, but once Jammu and Kashmir was declared as a UT in 2019, India’s youngest state became the 28th.


The day is significant in the history of Telangana because of the long-running Telangana movement. Telangana had been in the works for around 50 years before it was officially recognised as a separate state. The Telangana agitation succeeded in forcing Andhra Pradesh’s bifurcation on this day, June 2. This not only provided a distinct identity to the inhabitants of the region, but it also altered India’s map.

How did Telangana come into being?

The Telangana movement began in 1955, when the States Reorganisation Commission’s recommendation to preserve Hyderabad as a separate state was rejected. Telangana leaders have accused citizens of Andhra Pradesh of colonising the state by stealing their jobs and land. They also chastised the state administration for neglecting to invest in infrastructure in the region. Telangana was merged with the State of Andhra Pradesh, which had been established out of the erstwhile Madras, in the following year to become Andhra Pradesh, a single state for Telugu-speaking people.

READ ALSO :  iPhone 13 users your phone does not have THIS important feature

A violent revolt for a separate Telangana broke out in the state in 1969. Similar demonstrations for a breakaway state erupted in Andhra Pradesh in 1972. Following the agitations, Prime Minister Indira Gandhi created a six-point formula for accelerated development of backward districts as well as priority job status for locals. The Telangana movement grew more political after that.

In 1997, the BJP backed the proposal for a Telangana state, and in the election that followed, it promised ‘one vote, two states.’ To revitalise the Telangana movement, K Chandrasekara Rao founded the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in 2001. In a three-year election cooperation with the Congress, the TRS won five Lok Sabha seats and 26 Assembly seats.

When TRS President KCR proclaimed a fast-unto-death in favour of Telangana statehood, the campaign surged. On his way to the protest location, however, he was stopped by state police and sent to jail. The campaign drew in students, workers, and a variety of other groups from across the state. During the next 10 days, the whole Telangana region came to a halt.

The UPA government announced on December 9, 2009, that the process of awarding Telangana statehood will begin soon, notwithstanding KCR’s rapidly worsening health. On February 3, 2010, a panel led by Justice (Retd) BN Srikrishna was formed to propose a long-term solution to the statehood demand.

The report of the Committee for Consultation on the Situation in Andhra Pradesh was presented to representatives of the state’s major parties on January 6, 2010, by then-Union Home Minister P Chidambaram.

Finally, the UPA government started the statehood process in July 2013 and finished it in February 2014 when both chambers of Parliament passed the statehood bill.

READ ALSO :  Petrol prices cross Rs 101 mark in Mumbai: Check fuel prices in your city

In the April 2014 General Elections, the Telangana Rashtra Samithi won 63 of the 119 seats and went on to become the government. Telangana’s first Chief Minister was K Chandrashekar Rao. The state of Telangana was formally constituted on June 2, 2014.

first published:June 2, 2022, 2:50 p.m.

Source link