T20WC: New Zealand wins the toss, choose to bowl

Virat Kohli is once again in the same position as that of last Sunday as India loses the toss and is forced to bat first.

Dubai: Virat Kohli is once again in the same position as that of last Sunday as India loses the toss and is forced to bat first. 

Kane Williamson chose to bowl as the Kiwis aim to repeat what Pakistan did to India in the previous match. 

The focus is now on Trent Boult, who said, “will try to repeat what Shaheen did to India.”

Virat Kohli | India captain: We would have bowled first as well. We need a solid start and have wickets in hand. It’s ridiculous; we are playing twice in 10 days. The guys have recovered well. It’s another opportunity to come out and correct the mistakes. Two changes. One forced, Surya has back spasm, so Ishan Kishan will replace him and open the batting. Shardul Thakur replaces Bhuvi.

Kane Williamson | New Zealand captain: We are going to bowl, dew factor at this time of the year. I look forward to another challenge. One change, Adam Milne comes in for Tim Seifert. Just to balance our bowling attack. Conway will keep.

Men in Blue will be on the crease to bat and will try to put on a big score against the Black Caps. Both teams eyeing the win as the game is not actually a knock-out but losing this fixture will make it difficult to be semi-finalists.

Earlier in a pre-match press conference, Kohli had said that too will be a big factor in the game as two-three overs can change the course of the game.

“Yeah, it will continue to be a big factor and that is the nature of the tournament. You can look at the situation in two ways, you can bank too much on the toss and you can challenge yourselves as a team that even if you lose the toss, you are good enough to bowl or bat at any situation. Two-three overs can change the course of the game, for us, our only focus is how those eleven individuals are placed mentally,” he said in the conference. 

In the opening match, India lost the toss and had to bat first which did not complement the Virat Kohli & co. to win the game. Though the team put the target of 153 runs the Indian bowlers could not pull off a great ball show. India was unable to take a single wicket and it is to see know of how those situations changes. 

India (Playing XI): Ishan Kishan, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Virat Kohli(c), Rishabh Pant(w), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Varun Chakravarthy, Jasprit Bumrah

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Kane Williamson(c), James Neesham, Devon Conway(w), Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult

first published:Oct. 31, 2021, 7:14 p.m.

READ ALSO :  Haryana extends lockdown till July 5, know list of restrictions

Source link