Naga People’s Front legislator YM Yollow Konyak sworn in as cabinet minister

Naga People’s Front legislator YM Yollow Konyak sworn in as cabinet minister
Months after two major political parties formed opposition less government in the Nagaland, Naga People’s Front (NPF) legislator, Y.M Yollow Konyak was sworn in as cabinet minister on Wednesday.

Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio, his cabinet colleagues, Chairman of the United Democratic Alliance (UDA) T.R. Zeliang, senior civil and security officials were present in the swearing-in-ceremony, which was conducted by Chief Secretary J. Alam.

Following the death of the then Forest and Environment Minister C M Chang of the ruling Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) in October 2020, one cabinet berth has been lying vacant.

The NPF legislature party leader T R Zeliang has been appointed as the new chairman of UDA, replacing Chief Minister Neiphiu Rio in the post.

Nagaland government spokesman and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Neiba Kronu said that Zeliang would enjoy the status of a cabinet minister.

In the 60-member assembly, the NDPP has 21 MLAs, NPF has 25, BJP 12, and two Independent legislators.BJP is a partner in the alliance.

In September last year a meeting of the legislators and party leaders of Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party, Bharatiya Janata Party, Naga People’s Front (NPF)unanimously resolve to adopt the nomenclature of United Democratic Alliance(UDA) for the oppostion less Government in Nagaland.

The political parties have earlier stated that they are coming together to resolve the several old Naga political issues.

NPF legislature party leader T.R. Zeliang earlier said that a joint meeting of the ruling People’s Democratic Alliance (PDA), NPF and Independent MLAs would be held on September 18 in Kohima to decide about the Nagaland United Government.

READ ALSO :  Manipur HC restrains 7 rebel MLAs to enter assembly complex

The resolution stated,” Whereas the Parties to this resolution are political parties who contested the Nagaland State Assembly Election in the year 2018, wherein NDPP and BJP who are a part of pre poll alliance named as PDA formed the Government after securing majority numbers and NPF took the position of the opposition in the Nagaland State Legislative Assembly. Whereas it has been realized by the political parties that to achieve a peaceful solution to “Naga Political Issue“, the efforts and sincerity of the elected representatives towards bringing about settlement to the Naga issue is crucial, and the unity amongst them has to be paramount, so as to expedite and achieve the common goal of peaceful solution to the “Naga Political Issue”

The resolution stated whereas on July 9, 2021, The Core Committee of the Parliamentary Committee on Naga Political Issue, has resolved and affirmed the joint united approach in achieving the solution to the “Naga Political Issue”. Whereas on July 19, 2021, NPF’s Legislature Party in its meeting has resolved wholeheartedly support and contribute to the Parliamentary Committee on “Naga Political Issue” and in order to facilitate the peaceful settlement and solution to the “Naga Political issue” has unanimously endorsed the concept of Opposition-less Government with PDA.

In 2015 eight congress MLAs joined the government and later merged with NPF and this became the first all party government.

Source link