Manipur Phase 1: Polling for 38 seats today

Manipur Phase 1: Polling for 38 seats today
The stage is all set for the first phase of assembly elections in BJP-ruled Manipur on Monday covering 38 constituencies across five districts −Imphal East, Imphal West, Bishnupur, Senapati and Churachandpur. Elections for the rest of the 22 seats will be held on March 5.


Congress, which governed the state for 15 consecutive years (2002-2017) had emerged as the single largest party by securing 28 seats in the 2017 poll. But BJP, which won 21 seats, formed the government with the support of four each MLAs of NPEP and Naga People’s Front, the lone AITC MLA and an independent. This time the BJP, NPEP and the NPF are contesting separately.

Source link

READ ALSO :  Mamata Extends Bengal Lockdown Till March 31, Urges Modi to Let States to Borrow More to Combat Crisis