IPL 2021, RCB v KKR: RCB’s third straight win, beat Kolkata by 38 runs

Chennai: Sensational innings from Maxwell (78), De villiers(76) helped RCB post 204 runs in the board and defeated opposite team by  38 runs  in an afternoon encounter at the M.A. Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.


RCB have won the toss and select to bat first.

Virat Kohli and Devdutt Padikkal came out in the field to open the innings. The pitch looks better than other days. Harbhajan Singh opened the bowling for KKR.

Varun Chakravarthy scalps Virat Kohli’s wicket. He tries to loft the ball over in-field but gets it high on the bat. Rahul Tripathi takes an excellent catch. Kohli departs for 5. Soon after Kohli, Patidar departs after scoring just one run.

Meanwhile, Maxwell’s innings comes to an end. He scored 78 runs from 49 deliveries including 9 fours and 3 sixes. After Maxwell, ABD take a charge, he ends the innings with a boundary. He remains unbeaten for 76 from 34 balls.

For KKR, Varun got 2 wickets while Cummins and Prasidh Krishna picked 1-1.

Andre Russell’s 31 off 20 balls late in the KKR innings gave them hope of pulling off an epic chase but Mohammed Siraj ended up giving away just one run in the penultimate over, at the start of which KKR needed 44 to win.

Brief scores: Royal Challengers Bangalore 204/4 in 20 overs (Glenn Maxell 78, AB de Villiers 76 not out; Varun Chakravarthy 2/39) beat Kolkata Knight Riders 166/8 in 20 overs (Andre Russell 31, Eoin Morgan 29; Kyle Jamieson 3/41) by 38 runs.


Kolkata Knight Riders (Playing XI): Nitish Rana, Shubman Gill, Rahul Tripathi, Eoin Morgan(c), Shakib Al Hasan, Dinesh Karthik(w), Andre Russell, Pat Cummins, Harbhajan Singh, Prasidh Krishna, Varun Chakravarthy

READ ALSO :  GOI forms task force for coronavirus vaccine distribution

Royal Challengers Bangalore (Playing XI): Virat Kohli(c), Devdutt Padikkal, Rajat Patidar, Glenn Maxwell, AB de Villiers(w), Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Kyle Jamieson, Harshal Patel, Mohammed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal

Source link

Leave a Comment