INDvNZ T20I: Rohit and Ishan open for India

Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul walked on the crease of Edens Garden to open against Kiwis in the third T20 International match.

Kolkata: Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul walked out at Eden Gardens to open against Kiwis in the third T20 International match.

KL Rahul has been given the rest for the game, and thus, Ishan Kishan got the opportunity to open for India.

Rohit Sharma broke many records in the last game as he hit 5 sixes in his innings contributing 55 runs in the chase of 154.

India won the toss in the third T20 International against New Zealand but the skipper has chosen to strike first to challenge themselves.

Rohit Sharma said that they want to see how the bowlers do when they are to defend a score and thus, they would strike to be ready for future.

He said, after the toss, “Pitch looks a little sticky and we want to challenge ourselves as a batting unit. We gotta try various things and this is one of them. We want to put runs on the board and give the new set of bowlers a target to defend”.

India has already won two out of the three games, winning the three-match T20 series against Kiwis. Thus, the Indian team is giving opportunities to the new players to show their skills and “trying various things”.

Tim Southee is resting for the game and thus, Mitchell Santer walked to the field for the coin toss. He got what he wanted from the toss, field first.

He said, “ Last few games it has been wet because of the dew. There has been dew throughout. Whatever we do we have to do it well. We have been close, lost a couple of phases especially in the last game during the middle with the bat, we got off to a great start.. But that’s just the way. The Indian openers have come out and build partnerships. We are not far away and hopefully we can put up a complete game today”.


New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Daryl Mitchell, Mark Chapman, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert(w), James Neesham, Mitchell Santner(c), Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult

India (Playing XI): Rohit Sharma(c), Ishan Kishan(w), Venkatesh Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal

first published:Nov. 21, 2021, 7:05 p.m.

Source link