IND vs SL 3rd T20I Highlights: Dominant Sri Lanka Beat India By 7 Wickets, Win Series 2-1

India vs Sri Lanka 3rd T20I, Highlights: Dominant Sri Lanka Beat India By 7 Wickets, Win Series 2-1 | Cricket News

IND vs SL T20I: Dhananjaya de Silva and Wanindu Hasaranga guided Sri Lanka to victory.© AFP

Sri Lanka won the third and final T20I of the three-match T20I series against India by seven wickets and clinched the series 2-1 on Thursday. Wanindu Hasaranga was the top performer with the ball for Sri Lanka and he was also the Player of the Match and Player of the Series. India were restricted to 81 for 8 after winning the toss and opting to bat as Hasaranga scalped four wickets and gave away just nine runs. However, India were far from their best both on the field as well as in team combination. Several players in the squad were isolated after being deemed close contacts of all-rounder Krunal Pandya, who tested positive for COVID-19 on Tuesday. With this series win, Sri Lanka equalled the honours on this tour after having conceded the ODI series to India earlier. (SCORECARD)

3rd T20I Highlights, Sri Lanka vs India From R. Premadasa Stadium, Colombo

  • 23:49 (IST)

    Comeback Series For Sri Lanka!

    Sri Lanka won the third and final T20I against India by 7 wickets and also clinched the 3-match T20I series 2-1. Wanindu Hasaranga was the star performer for the Sri Lankan team in the entire series, in the final match, he got 4 wickets by giving away just 9 runs. The Indian team full of new faces was restricted for a total of 81 runs in the first innings. Later three wickets from Rahul Chahar gave hope to the Indian team while defending a low total but that was not enough.

    That’s all from the third T20I blog. Do join us for more.

  • 23:00 (IST)

    Sri Lanka Win By 7 Wickets!

    Chakravarthy to de Silva, wide and here Sri Lanka take the series 2-1.

  • 22:56 (IST)

    Sri Lanka Need 5 Runs To Win!

    Sri Lanka 77/3 in 14 overs, need 5 runs to win.

  • 22:54 (IST)

    5 Runs!

     Warrier to Hasaranga, 5 runs to point over through to the boundary.

  • 22:52 (IST)


    Warrier to de Silva, FOUR to deep mid-wicket. Good shot from the last match hero.

  • 22:51 (IST)


    Kuldeep Yadav to FOUR, to deep mid-wicket. Much needed boundary for hosts.

    Sri Lanka 66/3 in 13 overs, need 16 runs to win.

  • 22:46 (IST)


    Chahar to Samarawickrama, OUT Bowled. Third wicket for Rahul Chahar.

    Sri Lanka 56/3 in 12 overs.

  • 22:43 (IST)

    Indian Spinners In Action!

    Indian spinner are in action now. Rahul Chahar took two wickets till now.

    Sri Lanka 48/2 in 11 overs.

  • 22:32 (IST)

    Sri Lanka In Rebuilding Process!

    Dhanajaya de Silva and Sadeera Samarawickrama rebuilding the Sri Lankan innings.

    Sri Lanka 37/2 in 9 overs.

  • 22:28 (IST)


    Rahul Chahar to Minod Bhanuka, OUT LBW. 

    Second wicket for Rahul Chahar. Indian spinner joins the party.

    Sri Lanka 35/2 in 8 overs.

  • 22:15 (IST)


    Rahul Chahar to Avishka Fernando, OUT Caught and Bowled

    Sri Lanka 23/1 in 5.5 overs.

  • 22:10 (IST)

    Sri Lanka 22/0 in 5 Overs!

    Sri Lanka 22/0 in 5 overs.

  • 21:57 (IST)

    Decent Start!

    Decent start from Sri Lanka batters in the chase of 82 runs.

    Sri Lanka 5/0 in 2 overs.

  • 21:52 (IST)

    Varun Comes In Attack!

    Spinner Varun Chakravarthy comes into attack.

  • 21:51 (IST)

    Sri Lanka In Action!

    Sri Lanka 3/0 after 1st over.

  • 21:47 (IST)

    Action Begins!

    Bhuvenshwar Kumar to Avishka Fernando, 1 run. First run for Sri Lanka.

  • 21:33 (IST)

    Sri Lanka Need 82 Runs To Win!

    Sri Lanka need 82 runs to win the final T20I and seal the T20I series.

    India 81/8 in 20 overs (Kuldeep Yadav 23*, Bhuvneshwar Kumar 16; Wanindu Hasaranga 4/9) against Sri Lanka.

  • 21:26 (IST)

    Last Over!

    Sri Lankan bowlers have completely dominated the game till now. 

    India 75/8 in 19 overs.

  • 21:20 (IST)

    Final 2 Overs!

    India 66/8 runs in 18 overs.

  • 21:19 (IST)

    Hasaranga’s Magic!

    What a brilliant spell from birthday boy Wanindu Hasaranga.

    Hasaranga- 4 wickets for 9 runs in 4 overs.

  • 21:14 (IST)

    Hasaranga to Chakravarthy, OUT caught by Karuratne.

    Eighth wicket falls for India. Fourth wicket for Hasaranga.

    India 63/8 in 16.4 overs.

  • 21:11 (IST)


    Shanaka to Rahul, OUT caught by wicket-keeper Minod Bhanuka. Rahul wanted to go for an upper cut but fails to do so.

    India 62/7 in 16 overs.

  • 21:08 (IST)


    Shanaka to Chahar, FOUR to fine leg. Boundary after a long time, first one since the fourth over.

  • 21:04 (IST)


    Hasaranga to Bhuvneshwar Kumar, OUT caught by Shanaka, a one handed catch. Hasaranga gets another.

    India 55/6 in 14.5 overs.

  • 21:01 (IST)

    Fifty Up!

    India 53/5 in 14 overs. Sri Lanka have totally dominated the till now.

  • 20:53 (IST)

    Excellent Bowling!

    India 43/5 in 12 overs.

    Can India go past 100 runs?

  • 20:44 (IST)


    Dasun Shanaka to Nitish Rana, OUT caught and bowled. Another wicket for Sri Lanka and now India don’t have any recognised batsman in the lineup.

    India 36/5 in 9 overs.

  • 20:40 (IST)

    India In Trouble!

    India 35/4 in 8 overs.

  • 20:31 (IST)

    4 Wickets Put Sri Lanka On Top!

    A poor start from India as they lost their top four in the powerplay overs.

    India 29/4 in 6 overs.

  • 20:27 (IST)


    Hasarnaga to Gaikwad, OUT ANOTHER WICKET!

    Gaikwad this time.

    India 25/4 in 5 overs. 

  • 20:23 (IST)


    Hasaranga to Samson, OUT LBW. Another wicket falls for India. Sri Lanka on top.

    India 24/3 in 4.4 overs.

  • 20:20 (IST)

    RUN OUT!

    Mendis to Padikkal, OUT RUN OUT!! Another wicket falls for India. First it was an appeal for LBW and the two batsmen were on the middle of the crease and there was no coordination between the two of them.

    Padikkal goes this time.

    India  23/2 in 4 overs.

  • 20:18 (IST)


    Mendis to Gaikwad, FOUR good shot from Gaikwad.

    India 19/1 in 3.3 overs.

  • 20:08 (IST)


    Karunaratne to Padikkal, FOUR to the covers.

  • 20:07 (IST)

    Good Start For Sri Lanka!

    India lost captain Shikhar Dhawan in the first over. Good start for Sri Lanka.

    India 5/1 in 1 over.

  • 20:04 (IST)


    Chammera to Dhawan, OUT caught in the slips by de Silva and yes the ball carried to the fielder.

    India 5/1 in 0.4 over.

  • 20:02 (IST)

    First Runs!

    Chameera to Gaikwad, misfield and it’s a FOUR to the covers. First runs for India.

  • 20:01 (IST)

    First Ball!

    Chameera to Gaikwad, NO RUN. Slower ball and Chameera is getting swing right from the first ball.

  • 19:59 (IST)

    Bad News For India!

    Here’s the official update on Navdeep Saini.

  • 19:48 (IST)

    Sri Lanka Playing XI!

    One change for Sri Lanka as well. Pathum Nissanka comes in for Isuru Udana.

READ ALSO :  Ladakh: IAF deploys Apache helicopters just 25 km from LAC with China

Topics mentioned in this article

Source link