b8de85f5 6d0f 4eb9 80c4 8d0e02668814 - Daily Mail India

India Tour of SL: Sri Lankan players will have to go through quarantine after their return

Colombo: There is no threat to the ODI and T20 series between India and Sri Lanka. The corona test report of 21 Sri Lankan players who returned from the England tour has come negative. Only batting coach Grant Flower was found infected, he too was separately quarantined in Colombo. 

The first ODI will be played on July 13. However, the Sri Lankan Cricket Board (SLC) has taken a strict approach towards its players and has decided not to give them any match practice. Their quarantine period ends on July 12.

According to the SLC, the Lankan players had to follow the strict quarantine rules of 7 days. Only after that, they can participate in the NET session. The board said that we cannot do anything about the current situation. We have to work according to the rules of the health department. The Sri Lankan team returned from the England tour on 6 July. He had to go through a strict quarantine of 3 days. Since July 10, he is attending gym sessions only in the hotel.

The Sri Lankan Board can also announce the team in the next 48 hours. According to the reports going on in the media, the captain can be changed after the defeat in the limited over series against England and Bangladesh. All-rounder Dasun Shanaka may be given the captaincy in place of wicketkeeper-batsman Kusal Perera.

Probable squad for Sri Lanka:

Batsmen: Dhananjay de Silva (Vice-Captain/WK), Avishka Fernando, Pathum Nisanka, Osada Fernando, Ramesh Mendis, Kusal Perera (WK)

All-rounders: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Dhananjay Lakshan, Ishan Jayaratne, Charith Asanka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Isuru Udana

READ ALSO :  Coronavirus Pandemic: COVID-19 cases increasing worldwide

Bowlers: Dushmanth Chamera, Ajith Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Lakshmana Sandakan, Akila Dhananjay, Praveen Jayavikarama

India’s squad: Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wicket-keeper), Sanju Samson (wicket-keeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, K Gowtham, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini, Chetan Sakariya.

The Shikhar Dhawan-led Indian squad has reached Colombo on June 28 for a three-ODI and three-T20I series and was undergoing a week-long quarantine at the Taj Samudra Hotel here.

Source link