India, 1st ODI: South Africa win toss, opt to bat


Paarl: South Africa has won the toss in the first ODI against India and opted to bat on Boland Park where the pitch is dry as per captains. 

ODI captaincy debutant, KL Rahul said he would have wanted to bat but ready for both things. 

“Would’ve wanted to bat first. We’re always ready to do both things. Looks a little bit dry. Have some quality spinners in our attack. With Bumrah and Bhuvi starting, hopefully they’ll get a couple early with the swing,” he said after the toss.

Rahul said Venkatesh will be making his debut in the game and Shreyas Iyer will bat at four.

“Venkatesh Iyer debuting, Shreyas Iyer to bat at four. The last couple of days and right after Tests, there was a lot going on. Emotional for the team. Lot of us have debuted under Virat. Obviously he’s still with us and an integral part of the team. Just want to try out a few things in terms of tactics and strategies. Personnel will not change much. I want to give them a good run. Experimentation doesn’t mean we’ll go in and start hitting from ball one,” he added. 

The toss winning captain Temba Bavuma sain, “Wicket looks a bit dry. Would like to make use of the best of the batting conditions. Hopefully it slows up and the slower bowlers can get in the game. Hard to get away from the high of the Tests. But will have to focus on today, different format, have to ensure our basics are in touch. Opportunity for us as a one-day team to get our game in order. Have got a standard team. Marco comes in, obviously we don’t have KG available. Two spinners.”

READ ALSO :  Not sabotaging farmers' stir but cannot allow violation of Covid-19 curbs: Punjab CM
India Playing XI South Africa Playing XI
KL Rahul(c), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant(w), Venkatesh Iyer, Shardul Thakur, Ravichandran Ashwin, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal Quinton de Kock(w), Janneman Malan, Aiden Markram, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma(c), David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lungi Ngidi

first published:Jan. 19, 2022, 1:56 p.m.

Source link