Ind vs SL: India beat Sri Lanka by 7 wickets in first ODI

Colombo: The first match of the three-match ODI series between India and Sri Lanka is being played at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. Hosts Sri Lanka won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, Sri Lanka scored 262 for 9 in 50 overs. Team India got a target of 263 runs to win.

Captain Shikhar Dhawan along with Prithvi Shaw came out to open the innings. The young man, who was running in top form, started with a brisk start to take India past 50 runs in the 5th over itself. Prithvi Shaw was dismissed after scoring 43 runs off 24 balls. Scored 9 fours before being dismissed by Dhananjay de Silva. Dhawan completed the 33rd half-century of his career. Manish Pandey was dismissed after scoring 26 runs off 40 balls.

Returning in ODIs, Prithvi Shaw started with a bang, while Ishan Kishan, who came out to debut, also scored a stormy half-century. Playing the first ODI match, this batsman hit a six off the very first ball of his career and made the debut memorable.

Avishka Fernando and Minod Bhanuka came out to open innings for Sri Lanka. Both scored 49 runs for the first wicket. The team got its first breakthrough in the 10th over. Yuzvendra Chahal dismissed Avishka Fernando for 32. Kuldeep gave the second blow in the 17th over by dismissing Bhanuka Rajapaksa for 24 runs. In the same over, Kuldeep dismissed Minod Bhanuka for 27 runs. Krunal Pandya gave Sri Lanka the fourth breakthrough by dismissing Dhananjaya de Silva. He scored 14 runs.

READ ALSO :  Barcelona try to get Spanish league campaign back on track

Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav made their ODI debuts, with the former becoming only the second Indian and 16th overall to make his ODI debut on his birthday. Gursharan Singh was the first Indian to do so, vs Australia in Hamilton in 1990.

The teams:-

Sri Lanka XI: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka(wicket-keeper), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(captain), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera and Lakshan Sandakan.

India XI: Shikhar Dhawan(Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Ishan Kishan(wicket-keeper), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Kuldeep Yadav.

Source link