Ind vs SL: Deepak Chahar’s maiden fifty rescue India to win 2nd ODI against hosts

Colombo: With the help of Deepak Chahar’s classy maiden international fifty, India have won the second ODI match against Sri Lanka at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo. In this match, Sri Lanka’s team has set a target of 276 runs in front of India to save the series.

Chahar (69*) scored a half-century and played an unbeaten 84-run partnership along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar (19*) to take India home after being reduced to 193/7 in the second ODI.

In the last three overs, India needed 16 runs to win and the duo ensured that the visiting team did not lose any wickets and then gave the Shikhar Dhawan-led side a victory with five balls to spare. With this win, India took an unassailable 2-0 lead in the series.

Sri Lanka were in trouble at 194/6 before Asalanka’s gruesome half-century and a late cameo from Karunaratne took the hosts to over 250 runs. For India, Deepak Chahar backed Chahal and Bhuvneshwar as they took two wickets.

Batting first, Sri Lanka scored 275 runs for the loss of 9 wickets on the basis of half-centuries from Avishka Fernando and Charit Aslanka. Chahal put India in the driver’s seat in opener Bhanuka and Bhanuka Rajapaksa’s wickets in back-to-back deliveries. Fernando carried on the innings as soon as the hosts crossed the hundred, but Bhuvneshwar sent him back as soon as the batsman completed his half-century.

Meanwhile, Sri Lankan team captain Dasun Shanaka won the toss and elected to bat first.

Brief Scores: Sri Lanka 275/9 (Charith Asalanka 65; Yuzvendra Chahal 3-50), India 277/7 (Suryakumar Yadav 53, Deepak Chahar 69*; Wanindu Hasaranga 3-37)

READ ALSO :  Deaths due to Oxygen shortage 'no less than genocide': Court

The teams:

India playing XI: Shikhar Dhawan(c), Prithvi Shaw, Ishan Kishan(w), Manish Pandey, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Deepak Chahar, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav

Sri Lanka playing XI: Avishka Fernando, Minod Bhanuka(w), Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dhananjaya de Silva, Charith Asalanka, Dasun Shanaka(c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Kasun Rajitha, Dushmantha Chameera, Lakshan Sandakan. 

Source link