Congress revamps Manipur unit after election drubbing

Congress revamps Manipur unit after election drubbing
After election drubbing Congress in Manipur has revamped the party unit and appointed Keisham Megchandra Singh as its new president.

Manipur Pradesh Congress Committee’s president Nameirakpam Loken Singh tendered his resignation recently after Congress party’s interim president Sonia Gandhi asked the party chiefs of the five states where polls were held to resign.

The four new working presidents who have been appointed are T Manga Vaiphei, Mohammad Fajur Rahim, Victor Keishing and KH Devabrata Singh.

While Lokeshwar Singh has been appointed as the treasurer of the Manipur Congress, Vidyapati Senjam, Alfred K Arthur, L Tilotama, Hareshwar Goshwami and Lamtinthang Haokip have been appointed as its vice-presidents. Former chief minister Okram Ibobi Singh is in the executive committee.

Congress won five seats in recently held assembly polls.

Source link

READ ALSO :  PM Modi's 'dynastic corruption' response to Sonia Gandhi's 'democracy under assault' charge