Campaigning stops for 6th phase of West Bengal Election 2021

Ajeyo Basu

LAST UPDATED: April 20, 2021, 3:39 a.m.

Kolkata: Campaigning for the sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021 came to a halt at 6.30 pm on Monday. In this phase, on April 22, there will be polling at 43 assembly seats in four districts of West Bengal.

These districts are – East Badardhaman, North 24 Parganas, Uttar Dinajpur and Nadia. A total of 306 candidates will be in the fray during the sixth phase, including 27 women. About 1.03 crore voters will have a chance to exercise their franchise.

Voting will take place at 14,480 polling booths. Prominent candidates in the sixth phase of the West Bengal Election 2021 include BJP’s National Vice President Mukul Roy, Trinamool Congress’s (TMC) Ujjwal Biswas, Swapan Debnath and Chandrima Bhattacharya, CPI’s Tanmay Bhattacharya and Congress’s Mohit Sengupta. 

Out of 306 candidates in the sixth phase, 87 have criminal cases against them. Of these, 71 have very serious criminal cases against them. These include 14 of the CPI (M), 25 of the BJP, 24 of the Trinamool  Congress (TMC) and five of the Congress.

There are 66 millionaires in this phase, including 28 from Trinamool Congress (TMC), 19 from BJP, two from Congress and four from CPI (M). The average assets of the sixth phase candidates is Rs 94.83 lakh. 129 candidates have declared their educational qualification between fifth to twelfth while 165 candidates have declared graduation and above. 85 candidates are between 25 and 40 years old while 162 candidates have stated their age between 41 to 60. At the same time, 59 candidates are between 61 to 80 years of age.

READ ALSO :  People must rise, resist 'imposition of one thought: Chidambaram on resignation of 2 Ashoka University professors

Source link

Leave a Comment