Bijapur Encounter: Know timeline of major Naxalite attacks

Bijapur (Chhattisgarh): On Saturday, 24 soldiers were martyred in an encounter between security forces and Naxalites in the Bijapur district of Chhattisgarh. 

The martyrs include 8 from DRG, 6 from STF, 9 from Cobra Battalion and one from Bastar Battalion. But it is important to know how this attack was so easy for the Naxalites.

The encounter, which took place on the border of Bijapur and Sukma districts of Chhattisgarh, has shaken the entire nation. In this ambush, our soldiers bravely fought till the last breath and killed around 25 Naxalites. 

However, this is not the first time in the country, when soldiers have lost their lives in a Naxalite attack. Many such Naxalite attacks have taken place in the country.


On March 15, 2007, the Ranibodli camp in the Bijapur district of Chhattisgarh was attacked by Naxalites. 55 soldiers were martyred in this attack.


On July 9, 2007, the CRPF and local police force were returning to base camp at Uralpmeta in Arrabor to search for Maoists. At this time, the Maoists attacked, leading to the martyrdom of 23 policemen.


On July 12, 2009, 29 policemen, including Superintendent of Police Vinod Kumar Choubey, who had received information about the attack of Maoists in Manpur area of Rajnandgaon, were attacked and martyred by Maoists.


On April 6, 2010, CRPF personnel were attacked at Tadmetla village in the Sukma district of Chhattisgarh. 76 soldiers were martyred in this attack.


On May 17, 2010, security forces personnel going from Dantewada to Sukma were attacked with landmines. In this attack, 36 people including 12 special police officers were martyred.

READ ALSO :  One dead, 8 injured as truck ploughs through traffic near Pune’s Navale bridge


On May 25, 2013, Congress leaders’ convoy was attacked at Jhiram Ghat in Bastar district of Chhattisgarh, leading to 31 deaths.


March 11, 2014 – Attack in Tahkwada in Sukma district, 15 soldiers martyred.


April 12, 2015 – An ambulance was blown up at Darbha in Bastar district of Chhattisgarh, 15 soldiers, driver, health workers martyred.


May 6, 2017 – 14 soldiers were martyred in an ambush at Kasalpad in the Sukma district of Chhattisgarh. 


April 25, 2017 – CRPF jawans attacked at Burkapal in Sukma district of Chhattisgarh. 25 soldiers martyred.


March 23, 2020 – 17 soldiers martyred at Minapa in Sukma district of Chhattisgarh. 


March 23, 2021 – Soldiers’ bus blown up in Narayanpur. Five martyrs.

Source link

Leave a Comment