Assam Congress leader Sushanta Borgohain and former Manipur Congress chief Govindas Konthoujam join BJP

Assam Congress leader Sushanta Borgohain and former Manipur Congress chief Govindas Konthoujam join BJP

Congress leader Sushanta Borgohain in Assam and former Manipur Pradesh Congress president vindas Konthoujam joined BJP.

Manipur chief minister N Biren Singh tweeted, ”Giving a major boost to @bjp4manipur former Manipur CongressPresident, Shri @KonthoujamG joined Bharatiya Janata Party today in presence of Shri @sambitswaraj, Prabhari BJP Manipur and Smt @AShardaDevi, President BJP Manipur.”

Thowra MLA Sushanta Borgohain resigned from the assembly. Assam chief minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said, “With this joining Congress is nearly zero in Upper Assam.”

Phanidhar Talukdar of All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) from Bhabanipur seat is also expected to join the BJP. Sarma confirmed that he is in talks and will join the party soon.

BJP in Assam is expecting that as many as five seats will go for by-polls soon.

Assam went to assembly polls in March-April this year. While one Congress MLA, Rupjyoti Kurmi has resigned and joined BJP, there are two other seats which have fallen vacant due to the death of MLA. Majuli seat has fallen vacant as former Chief minister Sarbananda Sonowal was inducted in the Union Council of ministers. Sonowal is likely to get elected from Rajya Sabha as Rajya Sabha MP Biswajit Daimary had resigned last year from the Upper House and he is now Speaker of the state assembly.

Tamulpur constituency MLA, Leho Ram Boro of the United People’s Party Liberal (UPPL) died of COVID-19. Gossaigaon MLA Majendra Narzary of the Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) died following post-Covid complications.

Congress alleged that BJP is nervous and wants to touch the figure of 64 in the house of 126 and once that is achieved it will snap ties with allies.

READ ALSO :  BJP's Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore writes to Speaker against Tharoor over Facebook row

Sarma however refuted Congress allegations and said, “Our alliance with allies is for five years and there is no question of snapping ties before that.”

The UPPL is an ally of the BJP, which is heading the government in Assam. The BJP-led NDA secured 75 seats in the 126-member assembly, 11 seats less than in 2016.

The BJP won 60 seats which is similar to the number it won five years ago. The Asom Gana Parishad won nine seats against 14 seats last time, while the new alliance partner, United People’s Party Liberal, got six seats.

Prior to the polls, Ajanta Neog and Rajdeep Goala were the other Congress leaders in the state who had left the party. Neog is a minister in the present government.

Source link