Asia Cup 2022: First controversy, Why is Pathum Nissanka given out?

Dubai: The Asia Cup 2022 has started with a controversial dismissal given to Sri Lankan player in the opening game against Afghanistan.

The opening player of the hosts went back for 3 runs but the decision sparked many controversies on internet. When Naveen-ul-Haq bowled the 6th ball of the second over, Pathum Nissanka tried to play the ball but missed it and it landed in the hands of wicketkeeper Rahmanullah Gurbaz.

What sparked the controversy was umpire gave out to the appeal of the wicketkeeper. When Pathum took the DRS decision, there was a little spike that third umpire noticed but nothing was seen in the review. Ultimately, the decision was taken in favour of the bowler and Nissanka had to return to the pavilion.

This decision left everyone in shock including the commentators.

Playing XI:

Sri Lanka: Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Charith Asalanka, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Dasun Shanaka (c), Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Maheesh Theekshana, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana

Afghanistan: Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Karim Janat, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi (c), Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Naveen-ul-Haq, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Source link

Share: