042d3b15 4543 481b ac71 71a1850f78ee - Daily Mail India

After losing Nandigram battle, Mamata Banerjee to face Suvendu Adhikari in West Bengal assembly

Kolkata: After the face off between TMC chief Mamata Banerjee and BJP leader Suvendu Adhikari  in Nandigram, the high profile duo will now come face to face in the West Bengal assembly. 

Mamata Banerjee has been elected as the Chief Minister of West Bengal for the third time in a row, while the BJP, which emerged as the main opposition party in the state, has chosen Suvendu Adhikari as the leader of the opposition in the assembly. 

Mamata was defeated by Suvendu at the Nandigram assembly seat. The same competition will now be seen in the state assembly.

The Trinamool Congress (TMC) has 213 members in the assembly while Suvendu will represent 75 BJP MLAs. The BJP won 77 seats in the assembly elections. Since Nishith Pramanik and Jagannath Sarkar will not resign as MPs and become MLAs, therefore, the BJP will fall short by two MLAs 

Mamata has appointed seven party MLAs from her stronghold to keep pressure on Suvendu in the assembly. Never before had so many people been made ministers from undivided Medinipur.

At the time of the Left Front, a maximum of six people were made ministers. The MLAs who have been made ministers include Birbaha Hansda, Somen Mahapatra, Akhil Giri, Manas Bhuiyan, Humayun Kabir, Shrikant Mahato and Shiuli Saha. For so long, undivided Medinipur used to be the unanimous rule of the officer family. Suvendu was also an important part of the Mamata cabinet at one time.

Source link

READ ALSO :  Maharashtra records 8,744 new coronavirus cases, 22 deaths