2nd phase of West Bengal Election 2021 today, all eyes on Nandigram

Kolkata: The second phase of voting for West Bengal Election 2021 is taking place today. In this phase, 171 candidates are in the fray for 30 assembly seats in four districts of West Bengal. 

The credibility of the Trinamool Congress (TMC) is at stake in West Bengal.

The second phase also includes the Nandigram seat, considered to be West Bengal’s most high-profile seat, where Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee of the TMC and BJP leader Shuvendu Adhikari are face to face.

The credibility of Shuvendu Adhikari is also at stake in the second phase, because elections are being held in his stronghold.

This is the equation in the second phase of West Bengal Election 2021

In the second phase, voting will be held for a total of 30 assembly seats in four districts of West Bengal. Of these, nine seats are in East Medinipur district while elections are to be held for 8 seats in Bankura, 9 seats in West Medinipur and 4 seats in South 24 Parganas. 

The TMC had made a clean sweep in this area in the last assembly election in 2016, but this time the equation has changed a lot. The BJP has high hopes in this area. The vote of the Matua community is considered to be very important in the second phase of West Bengal Election 2021.

The main contest is between TMC and BJP

The main contest in the West Bengal Election 2021 is being considered to be between the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the BJP. 

West Bengal currently has a Trinamool Congress (TMC) government and Mamata Banerjee is the Chief Minister. In the last assembly election, Mamata Banerjee’s TMC won 211 seats, Congress 44, 26 left and BJP won only three seats.

READ ALSO :  Number of Covid-19 cases in US undercounted: Study

Voting on these seats will be done in the second phase

On April 1 in the second phase Sonamukhi, Patharpratima, Kakdwip, Sagar, Gosaba, Tamluk, Panskura, Panskura, Nandakumar, Mahisadal, Haldia, Nandigram, Chandipur, Kharagpur Sadar, Narayangarh West, Sabang West, Pingla West, Debra West, Daspur West, Voting will be held in Ghatal West, Chandrakone West, Keshpur West, Taladangra, Bankura, Barjora, Onda, Bishnupur, Katulpur, Indas and Moyna assembly seats.

Voting is being held in 8 phases in West Bengal

In the first phase of 294 seats in West Bengal, votes were cast in 30 seats on March 27. On April 1 in 30 seats in the second phase, on April 31 in the third phase, on April 6, in the fourth phase 44 seats on April 10, in the fifth phase 45 seats on April 17, in the sixth phase 43 seats on April  22.

In the seventh phase, votes will be cast in 36 seats on April 26 and in the eighth phase on April 29 on 35 seats. While the votes will be counted on May 2. West Bengal had 77,413 election centers in 2016, now 1,01,916 election centers have been set up here.

Polling is going on for 30 assembly seats in Purulia and Jhargram districts and 30 seats covering an area of Bankura, Purba Medinipur, and Pashim Medinipur. The first phase of voting will decide the electoral fate of 191 candidates, including 21 women.

This time the state is witnessing a triangular contest between the ruling TMC, the Congress-Left alliance and the BJP.

Source link

READ ALSO :  Raveena Tandon: My decision to adopt at the age of 21 was controversial

Leave a Comment